Cypress | Fine Dining in Charleston, SC

Cypress makes fresh food from the ocean in Charleston SC

Cypress makes fresh food from the ocean in Charleston SC

 

Bratwurst with baked beans style boiled peanuts

Bratwurst with baked beans style boiled peanuts

 

Sashimi tuna with oysters

Sashimi tuna with oysters

Travel writing certainly has its perks, and many of them come in the form of amazing food. I was working on a story about local attractions in Charleston, South Carolina, when I got invited to do a review on one of the town’s premiere restaurants, Cypress. Always up for a chance to sample local cuisine, I found myself standing in an elegant venue on East Bay Street, near historic downtown.

All in all, the food was pretty much a modern take on traditional southern cuisine. The creativity of these dishes is definitely something I’ll be attempting in my own kitchen. And while I can’t get fresh oysters at home in Colorado, I know exactly where to find them in Charleston. The next time you experience this esteemed historic city, put Cypress on your list of places to visit.

 For more photography, visit my website at
Leave a Reply

